Thread: Feedback on student version

Feedback on student version

Hi there,
    I'm a PhD student about to embark on my data analysis with Atlas.ti. I'd be interested in hearing anyone's feedback about the student version vs. the full version (I'm debating upon which one to buy). I understand they are supposed to be the same, except for lack of upgrades in the student version, and would be interested in hearing any student's experience with the student version.

Thanks!
    Sandra.

Hi Sandra,

For my PhD thesis I used ATLAS.ti. Its fine to use the student version when you work on your own thesis if you only use it. But you should wait until Version 6 is released to buy. Version 6 is coming soon.

ATLAS.ti Staff
    Hi Sandra, hi Ole,

let me clarify a few issues: The ATLAS.ti student version is technically the same as the regular version, i.e. there is absolutely no limitation of any kind.

In particular, there is also no time-limit for you to use it, meaning that, if you're a student, you can buy it today at the near-80% discount and use it forever! Not bad, eh.

There is exactly only one thing that is not available to you if you own a student license: You are not offered a discount on the upgrade once a new major version of the program is released.

But of course, all updates, service packs, and minor version upgrades that we release in between major version changes ARE included and are available for FREE. And once a new major version hits the streets, AND you are stil a student at the time, you can simply apply for a new student license and STILL pay less than the upgrade on even our discounted educational licenses.

You know, we think this is a pretty excellent deal!