Thread: Using Atlas ti re: Critical Discourse Analysis

Using Atlas ti re: Critical Discourse Analysis

Hi Everyone:

I'm a doctoral student @ the University of British Columbia, and I'm using Atlas ti as one part of a critical discourse analysis (CDA) of national disability policy texts (a la Norman Fairclough and Ruth Wodak). I'd be interested in chatting/corresponding with anyone who is currently or has in the past used Atlas ti as an element in a CDA.

I can be reached at john.vellacott@gov.ab.ca, or, of course, by a post on this thread.

Thanks

John Vellacott

Quote Originally Posted by John Vellacott View Post
    Hi Everyone:

I'm a doctoral student @ the University of British Columbia, and I'm using Atlas ti as one part of a critical discourse analysis (CDA) of national disability policy texts (a la Norman Fairclough and Ruth Wodak). I'd be interested in chatting/corresponding with anyone who is currently or has in the past used Atlas ti as an element in a CDA.

I can be reached at john.vellacott@gov.ab.ca, or, of course, by a post on this thread.

Thanks

John Vellacott
    Hi John,

I am not using explicitly CDA but am also doing discourse analysis for my dissertation project. I am looking at the discourse on social protest and dissent in China.

I am just in the beginning of my analysis but I think a software that helps me to remain in control of the huge amount of primary resources I need to look at will be useful. After comparing several products I stuck to atlas not at least for the active forum, the seemingly responsive staff, and the fact that a fully functioning trial version is available.

So far my experience is that I find the logic of Grounded Theory, after which it seems all qual analysis programs are modeled, has only limited utility for discourse analysis. Particularly I don't think it will be useful for me to code my primary documents so meticulously as grounded theory approaches seem to go advocate.